







- At UW Madison since 1997
- Professor, Department of Physics, UW Madison
- IceCube: Co-PI IceCube Maintenance and Operation, PI IceCube Upgrade, Associate Director IceCube Science and Instrumentation
- Research focus: Diffuse neutrino flux, focus on lower energies with self-veto techniques.

IceCube Neutrino Observatory Organization



University of Wisconsin-Madison

- J. Mnookin, Chancellor
- C. Czajkowski, Vice Chancellor for Research (Interim)

National Science Foundation

International Oversight and Finance Group

International Funding Agencies

Wisconsin IceCube Particle **Astrophysics Center (WIPAC)**

- J. Madsen. Director
- C. Lowney, Assoc. Director
- A. King-Klemperer, Communications
- K. Nutting, Business IT Support

IceCube Neutrino Observatory

- F. Halzen, Principal Investigator
- J. Kelley, Director of Operations
- A. Karle. Associate Director for Science & Instrumentation
- J. Madsen, Associate Director for Education & Outreach

Science Advisory Committee

B. Barish, Caltech, Chair

Software & Computing Advisory Panel

M. Delfino, PIC, Chair

IceCube Collaboration Board

Spokesperson & Executive

Committee Chair, I. Taboada (GTech)

Pub. Comm. Chair, E. O'Sullivan (Uppsala)

Speakers Comm. Chair, A. Ishihara (Chiba) IceCube-Gen2 Coordination Comm. Chair,

M. Kowalski (DESY)

Maintenance & Operations

Detector M&O - M. Kauer, UW Manager

Run Coordination M. Kauer (UW, Deputy Manager)

DAQ T. Bendfelt (UW) S. BenZvi (Rochester) Supernova DAQ Processing & Filtering E. Blaufuss (Maryland) IceTop Operations S. Tilav (Delaware) IceCube Live M. Frère (UW)

South Pole System &

Test System R. Auer (UW)

Calibration - M. Rongen (Erlangen) / D. Williams (Alabama)

Data Processing & Simulation – J.C. Díaz Vélez (UW)

Offline Data Production R. Snihur (UW) Simulation Production K. Meagher (UW)

Program Coordination - L. Mercier (UW)

Collaboration Simulation Production Centers:

Belgium: IIHE-Brussels; Canada: Alberta; Japan: Chiba Germany: DESY, Aachen, Dortmund, Wuppertal, Mainz

US: UW (NPX, GZK, CHTC, OSG), UMD, UDEL, LBNL/NERSC, PSU, Alabama

South Pole Logistics, R&D Support – M. Kauer (UW)

Quality & Safety - M. Zernick (UW)

Computing & Data Mgt. - B. Riedel, UW Manager

Data Storage Sys. & Cybersecurity S. Barnet (UW) Data Transfer and Archive P. Meade (UW) Data Management TBD (UW)

Distributed Computing V. Brik (UW)

Data Processing A. Sheperd (UW) **Networking and Facilities** S. Barnet (UW) **Production Software** D. Schultz (UW)

Data Archive at DESY K. Leffhalm (DESY) Data Archive at LBNL S. Klein (LBNL)

Software - TBD

IceTray Framework/Development D. La Dieu (Maryland) Simulation Software Offline Processing Software

M. Larson (Maryland) T. Yuan (UW)

Coordination **Committee Chair**

B. Riedel (UW)

Resource Coordination

L. Mercier (UW)

TFT Coordination

N. Whitehorn (MSU)

Real-Time Oversight Committee M. Santander

(Alabama)

Working Groups

Analysis Coordinator –

J.A. Aguilar (ULB)

Deputy Analysis Coordinator – N. Kurahashi Neilson (Drexel)

IceCube Upgrade Coordinator -

J.P. Yañez (Alberta)

Technical Coordinator -

B. Riedel (UW)

Collaboration Working Groups:

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Analysis Working Groups:

Diffuse

Neutrino Sources

Beyond Standard Model

Cosmic Rays

Oscillation Supernova

Technical Working Groups:

Real-time

Calibration

Reconstruction





Software and Computing Advisory Panel

Members:

- Lothar Bauerdick (FNAL, Chair)
- Peter Couvares (Caltech)
- Sridhara Dasu (UW-Madison)
- Miron Livny (UW-Madison)
- Peter Elmer (Princeton / CERN)
- Gonzalo Merino (PIC)
- Mark Neubauer (UIUC)
- Terry Schalk (UCSC)
- Frank Wuerthwein (UCSD)

Background:

Established in 2009

Objective: The SCAP advises the IceCube Spokesperson(s) and Director on the following topics: online computing, online and offline data processing and filtering, off-line computing facilities, and simulations and analysis support.

A written report is provided following each meeting.

Meeting history: 2009, 2010, 2011, 2014, 2016, 2018, 2021.





Science Advisory Committee

Members:

- Barry Barish, CalTech (Chair)
- Rene Ong, UCLA
- Stan Bentvelsen, NIKHEF
- Dave Nygren, UT Arlington
- Jim Yeck, UW-Madison/Brookhaven
- Tatsuya Nakada, EPFL, Lausanne
- Peter Meszaros, Penn State

Background:

Established in 2006

Objective: ~ Advise ICNO and the Collaboration on strategies to maximize future science.

Eg. 2017: IceCube Upgrade (Phase 1) strategy.

Meeting history: 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010,

2011, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017

Next meeting:

May 2024

Focus on future developments: Upgrade, IceCube-Gen2.



International Oversight and Finance Group



Members:

- Jean Cottam Allen (NSF/OPP Acting Director, USA)
- Christian Stegmann (DESY, Germany) / Ralph Engel (KIT/Helmholtz, Germany)
- Marc Hempel (Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), Germany)
- Tomas Andersson (Swedish Research Council, Sweden)
- Katarina Gårdfeldt (Swedish Polar Research Secretariat, Sweden)
- Jorgen d'Hondt (Research Foundation Flanders (FWO), Belgium)
- Laurent Favart (National Fund for Scientific Research (FRS-FNRS), Belgium)
- Takeshi Yamamoto (Ministry of Education, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) /
- Aya Ishihara (Chiba), Japan)
- Suguru Nakamura (MEXT/Basic & Generic Research, Japan)

Background:

The IOFG was created in 2004 to provide oversight and financial support for the ICNO (including construction, M&O, and research phases). The group organizes oversight reviews to discuss detector performance and physics.

Objective:

Meeting history: Meets typically annually



International Oversight and Finance Group



- Review of Memoranda of Understanding (MOU) between the various institutions.
- Concurrence on the Maintenance and Operations Plan.
- Revised institutional MoU's and Annual Common Fund Report.
- Funding issues.
- Other matters related to successful operation of the IceCube Neutrino Observatory for science.
- Construction effort of IceCube Upgrade
- Future developments, IceCube-Gen2

